Winners of FLAGship scholarships announced

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program. After reviewing the applications and much deliberation, the NeCGA Grower Services Committee chose five applicants to each receive a $2,000 scholarship. The awardees are listed below, along with their intended secondary school and degree program: Mitchell Manning, Fairmont, agricultural economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Payton Schiller, Scribner, animal science and plant science, UNL; Ryan Brown, Gothenburg, agronomy and precision agriculture, Southeast Community College; Kara Kudera, Clarkson, nursing, Wayne State College; Josie Vyhnalek, Friend, elementary education and special education, UNL.

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the son/daughter of an NeCGA member. They must be a senior in high school or college freshman who is continuing their education in Nebraska. This year two scholarships were opened for students not pursuing a degree in agriculture, as the committee realized the need for advocates in every field.

For more information about the Nebraska Corn Growers Association and the Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program, please visit or call 402-438-6459.