House ag chair receives Wheat Leader of the Year Award

NAWG │ National Association of Wheat Growers

The National Association of Wheat Growers has awarded U.S. Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-PA, with its 2023 Wheat Leader of the Year Award for his work as chair of the House Agriculture Committee.

NAWG President and Oregon wheat farmer, Brent Cheyne, presented the award to Chairman Thompson during a recent visit to Washington, D.C.

“On behalf of NAWG, I thank Chairman Thompson for the work he has done on behalf of wheat growers nationwide,” Cheyne said. “The 2023 Wheat Leader of the Year Award is the highest honor wheat growers can use to recognize legislators, and it finds the most deserving recipient in Chairman Thompson.”

The Wheat Leader of the Year is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award and is given annually by NAWG to one Member of Congress, whose commitment and support to the to the wheat industry goes above and beyond. NAWG also presented 19 members of Congress with its Wheat Advocate Awards for their exceptional support of the wheat industry during 2023.

Recipients were Senate Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-MI); Ranking Member John Boozman (R-AR); and fellows Sens. Roger Marshall (R-KS); Jon Tester (D-MT); Pete Ricketts (R-NE); Mike Braun (R-IN); Michael Bennet (D-CO); and John Cornyn (R-TX).

Other House members recognized were Ranking Member David Scott (D-GA); and Congressmen Tracey Mann (R-KS); Rick Crawford (R-AR); Jimmy Panetta (D-CA); John Garamendi (D-CA); Dusty Johnson (R-SD); Jim Costa (D-CA); Jodey Arrington (R-TX); Ronny Jackson (R-TX); Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA); and Dan Newhouse (R-WA).

NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national level.