Agriculture in the Classroom now accepting teaching award nominations

Kansas Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom is accepting applications for the 2019 Janet Sims Memorial Teacher of the Year and Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture Regional Excellence in Teaching awards. The awards honor Kansas teachers who excel at incorporating agriculture into their everyday classroom curriculum. Applications are due June 30.

All Kindergarten through 12 district-certified Kansas teachers who currently engage in integrating agriculture into a non-vocational agriculture classroom setting are eligible for the award. Applications will be evaluated on creativity and utilization of agricultural information, interdisciplinary approach, advancement of educational standards and student impact.

The Teacher of the Year award winner will receive an all-expense paid trip to the National Agriculture in the Classroom convention, sponsored by High Plains Journal and AG am in Kansas. KFB regional award winners will receive their choice of a $600 scholarship to attend the NAITC convention or a $200 cash prize to use toward classroom supplies, sponsored by KFB Foundation for Agriculture. The 2019 NAITC conference is slated for June 18 to 21 in Little Rock, Arkansas.

The Janet Sims Memorial Teacher of the Year award has been in place since 2008. The award honors the late Janet Sims, an educator for more than 30 years and a strong agriculture advocate. Sims served on the KFAC board of directors from 2005 until her passing in 2007.

Applications can be downloaded on the KFAC website at by clicking on Teachers and Teacher of the Year. Application deadline is June 30.