The World Food Prize selects students for internship program

The World Food Prize Foundation recently announced the selection of this year’s George Washington Carver Interns. Each academic semester and summer, a group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students is chosen for this unique program, which allows interns to take significant responsibility in planning and executing a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

“Through my time at the World Food Prize Foundation, it made my passion much more solid. I was able to work for a non-profit that listened to my ideas and thoughts,” said Katelyn O’Hare-Hayes, a previous GWC Intern. “I never felt like ‘just an intern’ rather, a valued member of the World Food Prize Foundation, even though it was just for a summer. This internship has shaped my career goals as well as given me a chance to learn more about myself and where I want my future to go.”

Interns will learn first-hand about operating an international non-profit organization and the international fight against hunger, malnutrition and poverty. With the help of one-on-one mentors, the GWC interns will play an integral role in the Foundation’s communications, educational programming, event planning, archives and more.

“Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation.

The George Washington Carver interns in the High Plains Journal readership area are Annie Edelman of Iowa State University; Nick Ellis of Drake University; Amy Huynh of Iowa State University; Kaylen Luttenegger of University of Iowa; Sydney Maras of Iowa State University; Kathleen McCracken of Drake University; Hannah Schlueter of Iowa State University; Jazlyn Talley of Iowa State University; Madeline Topf of Carleton College; and Melanie Van Horn of Iowa State. The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 46 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.