Iowa Renewable Fuels Association elects officers and executive committee

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association recently elected its board of directors, officers and executive committee. Each producer member has a seat on the board and votes on officers. New officers will serve a one-year term during the 2018 calendar year.

The Board of Directors officers include: president—Eamonn Byrne, Lakeview Plymouth Energy; vice president—Bill Howell, POET Biorefining-Coon Rapids; treasurer—Derek Winkel, Renewable Energy Group, Inc.; secretary—Eric Hakmiller, Lincolnway Energy; and executive director—Monte Shaw (non-voting).

The IRFA Executive Committee is comprised of the IRFA Officers and other members as elected by the board. Elected to join the IRFA Officers on the Executive Committee for 2018 are Past President Tom Brooks, Western Dubuque Biodiesel; At-Large Craig Willis, Archer Daniels Midland; and At-Large Rick Schwarck, Absolute Energy.

“It is an honor to be reelected to my second term as president of the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association,” said IRFA President Eamonn Byrne. “We had a number of successes in 2017–including securing another year of funding for the Iowa Renewable Fuels Infrastructure Program and protecting the 2018 Renewable Fuel Standard levels. This year we will continue to advocate for a robust RFS and state and federal policies that increase consumer access to biofuels at the pump.”

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association represents the state’s liquid renewable fuels industry and works to foster its growth. Iowa is the nation’s leader in renewable fuels production with 43 ethanol refineries capable of producing nearly 4.4 billion gallons annually—including approximately 55 million gallons of annual cellulosic ethanol production capacity—and 12 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce 400 million gallons annually. For more information, visit the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association website at