USDA declares multi-state disaster area due to drought

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 57 counties in Oklahoma as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought. Those counties are: Adair; Cotton; Jefferson; Pittsburg; Alfalfa; Custer; Johnston; Pontotoc; Atoka; Dewey; Kingfisher; Pottawatomie; Beaver; Ellis; Kiowa; Pushmataha; Beckham; Garfield; Latimer; Roger Mills; Blaine; Garvin; Le Flore; Seminole; Bryan; Grady; McClain; Sequoyah; Caddo; Grant; McCurtain; Stephens; Canadian; Greer; McIntosh; Texas; Carter; Harmon; Major; Tillman; Cherokee; Harper; Murray; Wagoner; Choctaw; Haskell; Muskogee; Washita; Cimarron; Hughes; Okfuskee; Woods; Coal; Jackson; Okmulgee; Woodward; and Comanche.

Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties in Oklahoma also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are: Cleveland; Lincoln; Marshall; Oklahoma; Creek; Logan; Mayes; Rogers; Delaware; Love; Noble; Tulsa; and Kay.

Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties in Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, and Texas also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

Those in Arkansas are Benton; Crawford; Little River; Polk; Scott; Sebastian; Sevier and Washington.

The Colorado county included is Baca.

Kansas counties include Baber; Clark; Comanche; Harper; Meade; Morton; Seward; Stevens and Sumner.

The New Mexico county included is Union.

The counties in Texas that are included are Bowie; Fannin; Lamar; Sherman; Childress; Grayson; Lipscomb; Wheeler; Clay; Hansford; Montague; Wichita; Collingsworth; Hardeman; Ochiltree; Wilbarger; Dallam; Hemphill; and Red River.

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s emergency loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of March 8, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

FSA news releases are available on FSA’s website at via the “Newsroom” link.