Oklahoma Cattlemen elect officers

Each year during the annual convention, the Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association elects new officers.

“The offices are rotated so that only a few open up each year,” said Weston Givens, OCA president.

Givens just completed year one of his two-year term as president. According to Givens, “The early leaders of the OCA used much forethought in designing the volunteer leadership rotation and election system.”

The newly elected volunteer leaders on the OCA Executive Committee are Rodney Timms, Enid, and Kent Trentman, Pawhuska.

Each year a new director is elected for each district. The directors elected this year to serve a three-year term are: Northwest—Derek Heaton, Alva; North Central—Wendell Custer, Cushing; Northeast­—Taylor Reed, Pawhuska; Southwest—Ryan Hunt, Grandfield; South Central—Becca McMillan, Ardmore; Southeast—Joe McAlester, Wilburton. Lori White, Putnam was elected to finish a vacant director position in the Northwest.

“The OCA is membership owned and driven. We appreciate the willingness of the above individuals to serve as volunteer leaders,” Givens said. “A complete list of OCA Officers and District Directors can be found at www.okcattlemen.org.”

The OCA is the trusted voice of the Oklahoma Cattle Industry. OCA is the only voice that speaks solely for the cattlemen of Oklahoma and represents beef producers in all 77 counties across the state. The OCA officers, board of directors and membership encourages you to join us in our advocacy efforts to ensure less government intervention, lower taxes and a better bottom line. For more information about OCA membership, the theft reward program or activities call 405-235-4391 or visit www.okcattlemen.org.