16 farmer-leaders appointed to United Soybean Board

Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue appointed 16 soybean farmers from across the country to the United Soybean Board. These farmer-leaders will be sworn in as directors at the upcoming USB annual meeting in St. Louis. The 16 appointees include five new directors with 11 returning. All will serve three-year terms.

“We look forward to welcoming the new and returning directors to our board,” says Lewis Bainbridge, USB chair and soybean farmer from Ethan, South Dakota. “I know these individuals will work hard to invest soy checkoff funds to further our goal of promoting U.S. soy’s sustainability and improving profit potential for soybean farmers.””

USB directs soybean checkoff funds to research, marketing and promotional efforts that maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers. In addition, USB directors aim to develop new and existing markets and build preference for U.S. soy, specifically in the areas of meal, oil and sustainability.

Appointed farmer-leaders from the High Plains Journal readership area include: Jim Carroll III* of Arkansas; April Hemmes* of Iowa; Rochelle Krusemark* of Minnesota; Patrick Hobbs of Missouri; Tony Johanson of Nebraska; and David Iverson* of South Dakota. *Indicates returning director

USB’s 73 farmer-directors work on behalf of all U.S. soybean farmers to achieve maximum value for their soy checkoff investments. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds in programs and partnerships to drive soybean innovation beyond the bushel and increase preference for U.S. soy. That preference is based on U.S. soybean meal and oil quality and the sustainability of U.S. soybean farmers. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.