Wheat Growers name Daines Wheat Leader and Tester Wheat Advocate of the Year

The Montana Grain Growers Association recently joined with the National Association of Wheat Growers in officially recognizing Sen. Steve Daines as NAWG’s 2018 Wheat Leader of the Year and Sen. Jon Tester as a 2018 Wheat Advocate.

The Wheat Leader of the Year Award is given annually by NAWG to one member of Congress, regardless of party affiliation, whose philosophy and records demonstrate their commitment to the wellbeing of America’s wheat farmers. It is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award.

The Wheat Advocate Award is given annually to a select number of members of Congress who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

In nominating both Senators, MGGA noted Sen. Daines’ pursuit of a seat on the Senate Ag Committee, his organizing and hosting the Montana Ag Summit where Montana leaders had the opportunity to meet with USDA Secretary Sonny Purdue and Senate Ag Chairman Pat Roberts, along with the Senator’s strong efforts to expand foreign markets for Montana grown commodities.

Sen. Tester was honored for his efforts on seeking assistance for producers affected by this year’s drought, his work to eliminate unfair Canadian trade practices and for reaching out to growers at listening sessions held around the state.

MGGA President Michelle Jones said, “We are thrilled to present our Senators with these awards and we are proud to honor and highlight their work on behalf of our producers.”