Nebraska Sorghum Board elects officers

Gov. Pete Ricketts recently announced reappointment of Michael Baker, from Trenton, to serve another three-year term on the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board. Baker was initially appointed to the Board in 2012 and represents District 4, which includes counties in the western portion of the state.

Additionally, the Sorghum Board elected Scott Nelson, from Axtell, to fill the Board-Appointed At-Large seat previously held by Del Ficke, from Pleasant Dale. Ficke completed his term and elected not to seek reelection.

Baker farms in Hitchcock County where he grows primarily sorghum and wheat. He currently serves as the chairman of the board and is also a member of the National Sorghum Producers Legislative Committee. Baker graduated from the University of Nebraska with a degree in agronomy and was a member of the inaugural Sorghum Leadership Class sponsored by the national Sorghum Checkoff. He is host to an annual sorghum hybrid plot and field day, and is recognized by fellow producers for his willingness to share his knowledge about sorghum production. “He’s not afraid to try different rotations, plant populations, row spacing and chemical/fertility programs,” stated one producer reference. “He’s always willing to share his successes and failure to advance viability of grain sorghum for our area.”

Other officers elected

During its late July meeting in Grand Island, the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board reelected current officers for the coming year. John Dolnicek, District 2 director from Lawrence, serves as vice chairman, and Duane Vorderstrasse, at-large director from Hebron, will serve another year as secretary-treasurer of the board.

The Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board administers the one-cent per hundredweight check-off assessed on all grain sorghum sold in the state. The board’s annual budget is allocated to the areas of research, market development, and education.